Police FAQ

Police FAQ

Within 24 hrs of residency in state

The Police Department operates 24 hrs/day, 7 days/week. The office is open Monday through Friday for administrative purposes, but there are staff on duty 24/7 to handle walk-ins.

Yes, all reports are taken seriously and investigated. You do not have to leave your name if you don't want to the regular line to report activities is 672-2413.  You can also call via our toll free line 877-277-8002 or use our Crime Stoppers Line 672-7463.

Buffalo is about 33 miles south, Lodge Grass, MT is about 50 miles north.

Yes. This is for the officer's and suspect's safety.

No. This depends on many circumstances and a citation is written at the discretion of the officer depending on the circumstances.

Sheridan County is under the jurisdiction of the Sheridan County Sheriff's Office and the Wyoming Highway Patrol.

Only if the damage exceeds $1,000.

The Sheridan Police Department has a K-9 Program.

The Detention Center number is 672-5623 we can't connect you to the jai.

Contact the Sheridan County Sheriff's Office 672-3455

These are provided by the Sheridan County Sheriff's Office (672-3455) on  Wednesdays and Fridays from 8:30AM to Noon.

These start at Circuit Court (674-2940)

Under 14 years of age:
School Year/Sunday-Thursday 9:30PM
School Year Friday & Saturday 10:30 PM
Summer 10:30PM

14 to 18 Years of age:
School Year/Sunday-Thursday 10:30PM
School Year Friday & Saturday 12:00 AM
Summer 12:00 AM

The Animal Shelter number is 674-7694 and their hours are M-F 10:AM-6PM and Sat Noon- 4PM.  It is important to remember though that if you have a Dog at Large or other animal problem to call 672-2413.

Most often this can be answered by dialing 866-WYO-ROAD or visiting the WYDOT website at dot.state.wy.us

Visit the Wyoming Sex Offender Registry or call the Sheridan County Sheriff's Office at 672-3455.

Call the Sheridan County Detention Center at 672-5623.

If the ticket shows Municipal Court it, is located at the Law Enforcement Center (672-3188).If it shows Circuit Court, it will need to be paid at the Sheridan County Courthouse (674-2940).

Not  unless the dog is a threat to livestock or wildlife or may be vicious to or has bitten someone.